重要提示
  • 投資涉及風險,基金單位可升亦可跌,過往表現並非未來表現的指標。閣下亦可能損失所投資之本金。
  • 本基金是以期貨為基礎的交易所買賣基金,須承受與衍生工具有關的風險並且有別於傳統的交易所買賣基金。
  • 三星標普高盛原油ER期貨ETF(「本基金」)可能面對的主要風險因素,例如:於投資風險、石油市場風險、期貨合約風險、WTI 期貨合約價格相對於 WTI 原油現貨/現行市場價格的風險、保證金風險、與指數的非計劃轉倉相關的風險、分派風險、政府干預及限制的風險、被動式投資風險、交易風險、交易時段不同的風險、對莊家依賴的風險、跟蹤誤差風險、終止的風險、過往表現的風險、新指數的風險。
  • 管理人可酌情決定以ETF的資本或實際上以ETF的資本支付分派,相當於退還或提取投資者部分原有之投資或任何歸屬於該原有投資的資本收益,導致每個基金單位之資產淨值即時減少。
  • 本基金為複雜產品,只適合具備可以承擔期貨投資所涉風險的財務狀況的投資者。投資者應就該產品審慎行事。
  • 此文件僅供參考,並不構成推介要約或招攬購買任何產品,投資者切勿單憑本文件作任何投資決定。
  • 投資決定是由閣下自行作出的,除非中介人於銷售該產品時已向閣下解釋該產品適合閣下的的財務情況、投資經驗及目標,否則閣下不應投資在該產品。請注意,以上列出的投資風險並非詳盡無遺。投資者應在作出任何投資決定前詳細閱讀產品章程及產品資料概要,以了解包括產品特性及風險因素等詳情。
  • 任何一方在未經SAMHK書面同意前,均不得將材料的任何部分複制,分發或散佈給他人。此文件由三星資產運用(香港)有限公司(SAMHK)編制,並未經證監會審核。

帶動油價上漲因素

  • 低庫存水平
    • 國際能源署(IEA)表示,由於石油供應短缺但需求強勁,經濟合作暨發展組織(OECD)工業庫存在 5 月份增加了 1520 萬桶,達到 26.91 億桶,但仍比 2017-2021 年的平均水平低 3.013 億桶。#
  • 增加的潛在原油需求
    • 全球經濟開始復蘇,對石油需求逐漸增加。2022年全球石油需求為1.0029億桶/日,預計2023年為1.0299 億桶/日。預計2023年供應短缺將持續。

  • 地緣政治因素
    • 當重要石油出產國的地緣政治風險增加時,市場擔憂全球石油供應,可能會推動油價上漲,但同時亦有機會令石油價格出現大幅波動。

#資料來源:國際能源署,資料取至2022年7月報告

原油出產國

石油輸出國組織(OPEC)是一個由13個國家組成的政府間國際組織,其使命是“協調統一成員國的石油政策與價格、確保石油市場的穩定,以確保為石油消費國提供有效、經濟而穩定的石油供應,為產油國提供適度的尊重和穩定的收入,為石油業投資人提供公平的回報”。OPEC成員國包括阿爾及利亞、安哥拉、剛果共和國、赤道幾內亞、加彭、伊朗、伊拉克、科威特、利比亞、奈及利亞、沙烏地阿拉伯、阿聯酋和委內瑞拉。OPEC 2021 年原油出產量佔全球出產量37.86%。另外美國及俄羅斯等亦為最大原油出產國之一。OPEC 2021 年原油庫存量則佔全球80.40%。

資料來源:OPEC,經三星資產運用(香港)有限公司整理,截至2021 年12月31 日。

石油價格的走勢會如何?

在過去的兩周中,我們看到了油價趨勢顯著下降。 鑑於近期供需雙方發生的事件,三星資產運用(香港)(SAMHK)研究團隊認為這將對緊張的供需形勢產生深遠影響。因此,我們將原油目標價下調至 85-105 美元。

隨著7月12日原油價格跌破 100 美元,我們看到市場對需求方面的主要擔憂。 美聯儲大幅加息和歐洲能源危機加劇將全球經濟拖入深度衰退,並抑製石油需求的復甦。同時,中國似乎在重新開放時遇上不少阻滯,這意味著短期內石油需求可能出現疲弱。

我們基本同意以上論點。 然而,我們的重點將放在供應方面,這一直是2022年年初至今高油價的關鍵因素。

資料來源:三星資產運用(香港)有限公司,截至2022年7月19日

選擇期油ETF還是石油股?

石油企業股價未必直接反映油價,石油企業股價除了受油價走勢影響外,亦受到該公司的業績、盈利能力和公司發展計劃等因素影響。比較與期油價格的相關性,3175.HK過往一年相關性比「三桶油」(中石化386.HK、中石油857.HK及中海油883.HK) 為高,回報較「三桶油」貼近油價表現。

與期油價格相關性

石油相關投資 代號 與WTI原油期貨價格的相關系數 過往1年表現
WTI原油期貨 CL1 Comdty 1.000 43.95%
三星標普高盛原油ER期貨ETF 3175 HK 0.988 63.07%
中國石油化工股份 386 HK 0.254 -10.18%
中國石油股份 857 HK 0.261 -1.06%
中國海洋石油 883 HK 0.183 17.33%

資料來源:彭博,資料由2021年6月30日至2022年6月30日

*資料來源:彭博,截至2022年6月30 日。過去的業績並不代表將來的表現。

 

為什麼要投資三星標普高盛原油ER期貨ETF

  • ETF直接投資多個合約月份原油期貨,與油價走勢的相關性較高
  • 期貨ETF比投資石油企業更能捕捉油價走勢
  • ETF每月重新調整倉位,投資者不用自行每月轉倉,減少期貨合約操作上的不便
  • 全球經濟開始復蘇,對石油需求增加,全球石油供應短缺情況預料將持續,有助帶動油價進一步上升
  • 截至2022年6月30日,現正處於逆價差的環境,持有期貨長倉的投資者可能面臨「正數轉倉收益」

詳細商品資訊﹕https://www.samsungetfhk.com/zh/education/commodity/

 投資原油ETF的風險

  • 地緣政治因素
    • 如戰爭、政局更替、自然災害等地緣政治因素。地緣政治因素有可能影響油產國產量,亦可能增加或降低相關地區對石油需求,令油價波動增加
  • 供應和需求
    • OPEC目前一直限制石油供應,如OPEC放寬限制,容許各國大量增產石油,可能導致油價下跌
    • 突發因素可能會影響石油需求,例如2020年新冠肺炎大流行時,全球經濟活動暫緩,對石油需求急降,導致石油供應過剩,令油價急跌
  • 全球經濟表現
    • 油價與經濟活動掛勾,如2008年爆發金融海嘯後,油價從高位下跌
  • 單一商品投資
    • 原油ETF主要投資於單一資產類別,相較傳統的股票型或債券型ETF,原油ETF的分散能力較低,導致波動度有機會比一般ETF為大

地緣政治因素、新的OPEC輸出準則或其他各種全球性事件都可能導致油價突然急升或暴跌,與石油相關的投資產品亦會受其影響。投資者需留意石油價格波動風險,對油價走勢保持警覺。

IMPORTANT NOTE
  • Investment involves risks, the price of units or shares of the Funds may go up as well as down. Past performance is not indicative of future results. You may lose the principal invested.
  • This is a futures-based exchange traded fund which is subject to risks associated with derivatives and is different from conventional exchange traded funds.
  • Samsung S&P GSCI Crude Oil ER Futures ETF the( “Fund” ) may face following important risk factors, for example: investment risk, Oil market risks, Futures contracts risks, Risk of material non-correlation with spot/current market price of the WTI crude oil risk, Margin risk, Risks related to unscheduled roll of the Index, Distributions risk, Government intervention and restrictions risk, Passive investments risk, . Trading risks, Trading differences risk, Reliance on market maker risk, Tracking error risk, Termination risk, Past performance risk and New index risk
  • The Manager may in its discretion make cash distributions to Unit holders out of capital or out of gross income resulting in an increase in distributable income for the payment of distributions which is in effect a payment of distributions out of capital.Payment of distributions out of capital or effectively out of capital amounts to a return or withdrawal of part of an investor’s original investment or from any capital gains attributable to that original investment. Any distributions involving payment out of or effectively out of the Product’s capital may result in an immediate reduction of the Net Asset Value per Unit.
  • The Fund is a complex product and only suitable for investors who can afford the financial impact involved in futures contract investment and investors should exercise caution in relation to this product.
  • This document is for reference only and does not constitute an offer to recommend or solicit the purchase of any product. Investors should not make any investment decisions based on this document alone.
  • The investment decision is made by you and you should not invest in the product unless the intermediary has explained to you that the product is suitable for your financial situation, investment experience and objectives when selling the product. Please note that the investment risks listed above are not exhaustive. Investors should read the Fund Prospectus and Fund Fact Sheet in detail before making any investment decision for details including product features and risk factors.

Factors driving the rise of oil prices

  • Low inventory levels
    • IEA stated that OECD industry stocks rose by 15.2 million barrel (mb) to 2 691 mb in May but still 301.3 mb below the 2017-2021 average.#
  • Increased potential demand for crude oil
    • The global economy has begun to recover and the demand for oil has gradually increased. The global demand for oil in 2022 is 100.29 million barrel per day (mb/d) and is expected to be 102.99 mb/d in 2023. The supply shortage is expected to continue in 2023.

  • Geopolitical factors
    • Oil prices may rise if there is geopolitical risk in major oil-producing countries which will raise market concerns about the availability of oil supply. The oil prices may fluctuate drastically at the same time.

 # Source: International Energy Agency, data as of July 2022

Oil producers

The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) is an intergovernmental organization of 13 countries. The mission of OPEC is to coordinate and unify the petroleum policies of its Member Countries and ensure the stabilization of oil markets in order to secure an efficient, economic and regular supply of petroleum to consumers, a steady income to producers and a fair return on capital for those investing in the petroleum industry. The Member Countries include Algeria, Angola, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. The crude oil produced by OPEC accounted for 37.86% of global production and accounts for 80.40% of global reserve in 2021, while US and Russia are one of the major oil producers.

Source: OPEC, consolidated by Samsung Asset Management (HK) Limited, as of 31 Dec 2021

How will be the trend of oil price?

Despite lingering concerns about a more hawkish Federal Reserve, Oil prices have performed fairly well in October Rumors on China reopening started to emerge since the last week of Oct, including some encouraging speeches from expert with official background. Propaganda on Covid is also getting more nuanced, with less emphasis on the severity of the disease, or its aftermath. Despite ‘Zero Covid’ policy was reiterated during the past weekend, more people tend to believe that the substance of the policy is changing, moving towards reopening.

By and large, as OPEC+ no longer holds monthly meeting, oil prices will probably change with the pace of China reopening and the pace of Fed rate hikes. Looking ahead, we believe the positive effect of a potential China reopening is likely to overwhelm the concerns on a tighter and stronger U.S dollar. Our target range on WTI is unchanged at $85-105.

Source: Samsung Asset Management (HK) Limited, as of 7 Nov 2022

Choosing Oil Futures ETF or Oil Stocks?

The stock prices of oil companies may not be able to directly reflect the oil prices. Apart from the change of oil prices, they are also affected by the company's financial performance, profitability, business development plan and so on. Comparing the correlation, the correlation of 3175.HK over 1 year has higher correlation with oil futures prices than that of "Three barrels of oil" (Sinopec 386.HK, PetroChina 857.HK and CNOOC 883.HK).

Correlation with crude oil prices

Oil related investment Code Correlation with WTI crude oil future price
Samsung S&P GSCI Crude Oil ER Futures ETF 3175 HK 0.988
China Petroleum & Chemical Corporation 386 HK 0.206
PetroChina Company Limited 857 HK 0.257
CNOOC Limited 883 HK 0.209

Source: Bloomberg, data from 31 Oct 2021 to 31 Oct 2022

* Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 Oct 2022. Past performance is not indicative of future performance

Why choosing Samsung S&P GSCI Crude Oil ER Futures ETF?

  • ETF directly invests in multiple crude oil futures months and has a relatively higher correlation with oil prices
  • Futures ETFs capture oil prices trend better than oil stocks do
  • ETF is monthly rebalancing and investors do not need to rollover themselves. This reduces the inconvenience for investors brought by investing future contracts.
  • The global economy has begun to recover and the demand for oil is gradually increasing. The oil supply shortage is expected to continue which may lead oil prices to rise.
  • As of 31 Oct 2022, it is currently in an environment of backwardation, investors holding long futures positions may have " positive roll yield ".

Details of commodity﹕ https://www.samsungetfhk.com/education/commodity/

Risk of investing in Oil ETF

  • Geopolitical factors
    • Such as wars, political changes, natural disasters, etc. Geopolitical factors may affect the supply of oil-producing countries and may increase or decrease the demand for oil in the relevant regions, which will increase the volatility of oil prices
  • Supply and demand
    • OPEC has been restricting the oil supply. Oil prices may fall if OPEC relaxes restrictions and allows massive production of oil
    • Unexpected factors may affect oil demand. For instance, global economic activity was suspended during the COVID-19 pandemic. The demand for oil dropped sharply, resulting in oil glut and a sharp drop in oil prices in 2020
  • Global economy
    • Oil prices are linked to economic activities. For example, after the financial tsunami broke out in 2008, oil prices fell from high levels
  • Single commodity investment
    • Oil ETFs mainly invest in a single asset class. Compared with traditional equity or bond ETFs, oil ETFs have lower diversification capabilities, resulting in higher volatility than general ETFs

Geopolitical factors, new OPEC output guidelines or various global events can cause oil prices to suddenly surge or collapse, also affecting the price of oil-related investment products. Investors should pay attention to the volatility risk of oil prices and remain alert to the trend of oil prices.